Crowning Miss Compton

10 Sep

miss cptMiss Compton 2014-2015 JaTiara Fuller is a graduate from California State University of Long Beach, she obtains a Bachelors Degree in Human Development and a minor in Africana Studies.

 

Did you always know you wanted to be Miss Compton, how was your process, how’d you find out about this opportunity?

Miss Compton: I didn’t find out that Compton had a pageant until earlier this year. I was working at Centennial High School and came across the Compton magazine when I spotted a spread on the Miss Compton pageant. After that I knew I wanted to be involved so I visited the Miss Compton website and inquired about the upcoming pageant. Soon after that I received a phone call from the pageant director Ms. Shanice McKinley, we had a phone interview. Next, we had an interview in person and after the meeting I was informed that I was going to be a contestant for the pageant.Lastly, all of the contestants met, had a photo shoot, and we began the training for our pageant.

How did it feel to be crowned Miss Compton?

Miss Compton: Crowning was very interesting. The day of the pageant I was not crowned as the winner, instead I was named 1st runner up. It wasn’t until a couple days later that I was notified that there had been an accounting error and that I was in fact the true winner. So I was never actually “crowned”. However in the near future I will be having a crowning ceremony so I can get the recognition that I deserve and my family can see me being presented with the crown and sash.

The crowning ceremony date is to be announced.

I know it has been only a short time since you became Miss Compton, what has been your favorite look you have worn for an event so far?20140816_180125-1

Miss Compton: My first event will be Saturday September 13th and it’s a youth golf tournament, but my favorite look from the pageant had to be the evening gown portion. I felt completely flawless. I felt like I was on top of the world and that I was the prettiest girl in the world.
What are the top three best things about being Miss Compton thus far?

Miss Compton: So far the top three greatest things about being Miss Compton is: 1. Being a positive role model to young girls aspiring to go to college or who just need a positive young woman to look up to and who they can count on, 2. Giving back to the community and being able to mingle with the Compton population and putting in efforts to change the image of Compton, and 3. Being able to dress up, go to events and mingle with people from all different walks of life.

Who was your biggest role model growing up and why?

Miss Compton: My biggest role model is definitely my mother. She is strong, intelligent, independent, caring and dependable. She always gives me great advice and is always in my corner no matter if she agrees with my decision or not. I know she will always back me up and point me into the right direction.
Who is your latest celebrity crush?

Miss Compton: I love Kelly Rowland, Tammy Rivera and Gabriel Union. Those women are so amazingly beautiful and intelligent. I just love their drive and work ethic.
What is your favorite social media platform to use and why?

Miss Compton: Personally my favorite platform is Instagram but for the pageant my favorite platform is Facebook. Instagram is fun because you can see cool pictures and everything is easily accessible and on the other hand Facebook allowed me to reach a wider community, which allowed me to reach more people to inform them about the pageant.
If you could jump on a plane tomorrow and go anywhere, where would you go? Who would you bring?

Miss Compton: I would go to Italy in a heartbeat! I would bring my mom because she is one of my traveling buddies and we can do a lot of shopping there.

What’s your favorite guilty pleasure?

Miss Compton: Definitely has to be shopping! I know I shouldn’t do it as much but I just need shoes!! I just love them!

 

Lastly, What advice can you give to future Miss Compton’s?

Miss Compton: Some advice I would give is to make sure you stay focused and have a good sense of yourself. To be Miss Compton you need to have a plan of action and steps on how to achieve the goals you set. It is important to have yourself prepared both mentally and physically in order to represent Compton. I would also want to let future Miss Compton’s know that they must grow some pretty thick skin because not everyone is going to like you and a queen must be able to get along with everyone without any problems. The future Queen’s need to be versatile.

One Response to “Crowning Miss Compton”

  1. golf 10/09/2014 at 7:41 pm #

    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here
    by searching for golf

Leave a Reply

